My proposal to create 2017-2021 NCHSAA conferences

Last updated: March 3, 2016

This is my proposal on how to realign the current 4-class system NCHSAA 
conferences using the 2015 adjusted ADM numbers.  I try to eliminate as many 
split conference situations as possible.  I believe that split conferences 
should only be created when absolutely necessary, usually for situations where 
schools have an insufficient number of schools in their immediate area, in 
their own class.  Schools should be in a conference with other schools of their
size as often as it is feasible.  For example, in the football playoff seeding 
process, it is unfair that some 2A schools compete against 3A schools in their 
league, while other schools get to compete against 1A schools in their league.

My ground rules for realigning were as follows: 

1)At least 6 football-playing schools per conference.  I tried to make 
conferences of 6-8 schools where possible.

2)For split conferences, at least 3 football-playing schools in each division.

* = non-football school
4A 3A 2A 1A
Conference #1 Conference #1 Conference #1 Conference #1
Laney(4A) Hunt Currituck Tarboro
Ashley(4A) Southern Nash Hertford County North Edgecombe
Hoggard(4A) Franklinton Bertie Rocky Mount Prep
New Hanover(3A) Northern Nash Northeastern Northampton
West Brunswick(3A) Rocky Mount First Flight Bear Grass Charter*
Topsail(3A) Fike Pasquotank Riverside
South Brunswick(3A) South Creek
North Brunswick(3A) Edenton Holmes
Gates County
Conference #2 Conference #2 Conference #2 Conference #2
New Bern(4A) West Carteret Washington Louisburg
South Central(4A) Havelock North Pitt NW Halifax
Rose(3A) Jacksonville SW Edgecombe Granville Central
Conley(3A) Northside(Jacksonville) Beddingfield KIPP Pride
C.B. Aycock(3A) White Oak Farmville Central Weldon
Eastern Wayne(3A) Swansboro North Johnston SE Halifax
Southern Wayne(3A) Nash Central Kestrel Heights(football)
Conference #3 Conference #3 Conference #3 Conference #3
Enloe Chapel Hill Kinston Cape Hatteras
Garner Orange West Craven Columbia
Southeast Raleigh Southern Durham South Lenoir Mattamuskeet
Knightdale Northern Durham North Lenoir Creswell
Corinth Holders East Chapel Hill Ayden-Grifton Ocracoke*
Rolesville Cedar Ridge Greene Central Manteo
Fuquay-Varina Hillside Plymouth
Cardinal Gibbons Person Camden County
Conference #4 Conference #4 Conference #4 Conference #4
Millbrook Douglas Byrd East Duplin East Carteret
Wakefield Lee County Croatan Pamlico
Leesville Road Terry Sanford Trask Lejeune
Broughton Western Harnett Wallace-Rose Hill Northside(Pinetown)
Wake Forest Westover James Kenan Southside
Sanderson Union Pines Richlands Jones
Athens Drive Northwood SW Onslow
Heritage Southern Lee Dixon
Conference #5 Conference #5 Conference #5 Conference #5
Panther Creek Harnett Central West Bladen Hobbton(1A)
Apex Triton South Columbus Rosewood(1A)
Cary Cleveland St. Pauls Princeton(1A)
Holly Springs Smithfield-Selma Red Springs North Duplin(1A)
Green Hope South Johnston East Bladen Neuse Charter*(1A)
Jordan Clayton Fairmont Midway(2A)
Riverside East Wake Whiteville Goldsboro(2A)
Middle Creek West Johnston Clinton Spring Creek(2A)
Apex Friendship
Conference #6 Conference #6 Conference #6 Conference #6
South View(4A) Eastern Alamance Southern Vance Pender
Jack Britt(4A) Eastern Guilford Bunn East Columbus
Overhills(4A) Western Alamance South Granville South Robeson
Pine Forest(4A) Williams Roanoke Rapids West Columbus
Cape Fear(3A) NE Guilford Warren County Union
Gray's Creek(3A) Southern Alamance Northern Vance Lakewood
EE Smith(3A) Rockingham Co. Webb
Morehead Durham Arts*
McMichael NCSSM*
Conference #7 Conference #7 Conference #7 Conference #7
Richmond Dudley Carrboro Raleigh Charter*
Lumberton SE Guilford Cummings Franklin Academy*
Pinecrest Asheboro Graham Voyager*
Hoke County Ben L. Smith Bartlett Yancey Roxboro Comm.*
Scotland Western Guilford Jordan-Matthews East Wake Academy*
Purnell Swett SW Randolph Reidsville Woods Charter*
Seventy-First Southern Guilford River Mill*
Northern Guilford Research Triangle*
Oxford Prep*
Falls Lake Academy*
Kestrel Heights*
Conference #8 Conference #8 Conference #8 Conference #8
Glenn AL Brown T.W. Andrews Chatham Charter*
East Forsyth Cox Mill Providence Grove Chatham Central
West Forsyth Central Cabarrus Randleman South Davidson
R.J. Reynolds Concord Eastern Randolph Uwharrie Charter*
Reagan NW Cabarrus Wheatmore North Moore
Davie County Jay Robinson Trinity West Montgomery
Northwest Guilford
#8-9 football combined
Conference #9 Conference #9 Conference #9 Conference #9
High Point Central(4A) Statesville East Davidson North Rowan
Page(4A) North Iredell North Davidson Queens Grant*
Grimsley(4A) South Iredell West Davidson North Stanly
Ragsdale(4A) Alexander Central Lexington Albemarle
SW Guilford(3A) Carson Thomasville South Stanly
Mount Tabor(3A) West Rowan Central Davidson Union Academy
Parkland(3A) East Rowan Oak Grove Gray Stone Day*
North Forsyth(3A) Ledford Carolina International*
Bradford Prep*
Conference #10 Conference #10 Conference #10 Conference #10
Mallard Creek Marvin Ridge Salisbury Starmount
Hough Sun Valley Mount Pleasant South Stokes
Lake Norman Weddington South Rowan East Surry
Vance Cuthbertson Forest Hills Mount Airy
North Meck Piedmont West Stanly Bishop McGuinness
Mooresville Charlotte Catholic Central Academy North Stokes
Hickory Ridge Monroe Anson W-S Prep
Hopewell Parkwood East Montgomery
Conference #11 Conference #11 Conference #11 Conference #11
South Meck Ashbrook Hibriten Bessemer City
Ardrey Kell Kings Mountain Bandys Cherryville
Olympic Forestview Bunker Hill Highland Tech
West Charlotte Cramer Newton-Conover Comm. Sch. Of Dav.
Providence Crest Maiden Pine Lake Prep
Harding North Gaston West Iredell Lincoln Charter*
Berry Academy Hunter Huss Fred T. Foard Mountain Island Charter
West Meck Burns Thomas Jefferson
Piedmont Comm.*
Conference #12 Conference #12 Conference #12 Conference #12
Myers Park West Henderson R-S Central Mountain Heritage(2A)
Rocky River Tuscola Shelby Owen(2A)
Garinger Enka Chase Madison(2A)
Porter Ridge North Henderson East Rutherford Avery County(1A)
Butler A.C. Reynolds East Burke Mitchell(1A)
East Meck Erwin Patton Polk County(1A)
Independence Asheville Draughn
T.C. Roberson
North Buncombe
Conference #13 Conference #13 Conference #13
South Caldwell(4A) South Point Ashe County(2A)
McDowell(4A) West Lincoln Wilkes Central(2A)
Freedom(3A) North Lincoln North Wilkes(2A)
West Caldwell(3A) Lincolnton West Wilkes(2A)
St. Stephens(3A) East Lincoln Alleghany(1A)
Watauga(3A) Lake Norman Charter Elkin(1A)
Hickory(3A) East Gaston East Wilkes(1A)
Conference #14 Conference #14
West Stokes Swain County
Forbush Murphy
North Surry Hayesville
Carver Rosman
Surry Central Robbinsville
Atkins Cherokee
Walkertown Andrews
Hiwassee Dam*
Conference #15 Highlands*
Franklin Blue Ridge*
Smoky Mountain Nantahala*
Brevard Tri-County*
East Henderson Independents
Hendersonville NCSD*